Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Join SHN Mailing List
Please enter your email address below to be added to the mailing list. GO*
Congratulations! you are now on our mailing list
Unfortauntely we cant add you to the mailing list at this time
Skip Navigation LinksHome Ministry of Education HIV & AIDS Networks

Ministry of Education HIV & AIDS Networks

​​​Over the past five years, four Networks for HIV and AIDS Focal Points have been formed throughout Africa in East, West, Central and Lusophone Africa. Over this same period, the Networks have successfully taken on responsibility and ownership of "Accelerate"​ activities (Acceleration of the Education Sector Response to HIV and AIDS) at regional and national levels.

The groups meet and communicate regularly to discuss how best to work together to develop more effective regional, sub-regional and national education sector responses to HIV and AIDS. Their ultimate aim is to enable stronger and better quality actions at the school level.​

West Africa​ - This network aims to accelerate the education sector response to HIV and AIDS in the Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) region and Mauritiana through stronger and better quality actions at national levels.​ The region covers the following countries: Benin, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinee, Guinee Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritiana, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone & Togo. 

Eastern Africa​ - Network of HIV/AIDS and Education Focal points for Eastern and Southern Africa. Out of the 25.5 million persons living with HIV and AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa, 17 million of which are in Eastern and Southern Africa. This region covers the following countries: Burundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Tanzania (mainland), Zanzibar, Uganda and Zambia.